Winds of Change

And yes, if you grew up to the sound of 80s and early 90s Hair Bands, you are whistling that Scorpions tune right now. (Queue: Diabolical laughter)

Guess what? I’m back from Boston! It’s a beautiful, walkable town, a city on a smaller scale (sort of the way Austin is in Texas). This is what fall looks like in New England, for my fellow southerners:

Yellow leaves against a blue sky.

Yellow leaves against a blue sky.

The leaves are turning in Boston.

The leaves are turning in Boston.

The city streets there are beautiful, often cobblestoned, and I could picture how Boston might have looked well over a 100 years ago, something which isn’t easy to do in many American cities (not only because many of them aren’t that old in the first place!).

A street in Boston.

A street in Boston.

And last but not least, to prove that I was actually there, here’s a photo of me with the Charles River flowing by in the background:

Me in Boston, October 2008.

Me in Boston, October 2008.

I will also be using this photo as one of my Before photos. . . . because as Kelly mentioned in a post on her blog earlier this month, Before photos don’t have to be the dour standing-in-front-of-a-wall-looking-morose shots that they often are. This is me in the real world at my current (and heaviest) weight of around 200 lbs. I’ll be dropping the excess weight in the real world, after all, so it makes sense to incorporate this kind of photo into my chronicles online.

The breath of true autumn I experienced this weekend reminded me that this is the season I relate to most strongly. Beautiful but bittersweet, motivating, impatient, mercurial, it tugs at my heart and propels me forward with an aching hope that real change absolutely can be effected.

8 Responses

  1. You’re looking pretty good in the ‘before’ shot, if you ask me. Which you didn’t. :)

    Glad you had such a great trip! I’m adding Boston to my must-see cities.

  2. Aww, thanks Cammy :).

  3. Great!! I love how much fun it is to walk around Boston! From the paths along the riverfront to the historic areas, and Commons. I’m glad you had such a good time there!

  4. Hi Liz, I just found your blog – thanks for linking to SmarterFitter! I used to live in Austin until a couple years ago. I miss it all the time… especially Town Lake and the FOOD! Are you in Austin or somewhere else in Texas? Great photo, btw. Boston rules!

    P.S. I am going to search for “Scorpions” on YouTube right now. Love that song!

  5. love boston

    ADORED THE SCORPIONS.

    **skips off singing**

  6. Thanks, Dr. J—Boston really is incredibly scenic.

    Hey Monica! Yes, I am an Austinite. And we still have the yummiest Mexican food ;).

    MizFit: the whistling part is the best. Seriously.

  7. Thanks for sharing that other blog with me Liz. I’m from TX too and lived in Austin for several years…love, love, loved it!!!

    And yes, the NE is beautiful in the fall…Tour was up in Massachussettes and I did atleast get to enjoy the fall foliage on the drive up to our first venue.

    Best,
    -Bex

  8. Bex: My pleasure! When I read that you were an opera singer, Cindy’s site immediately popped into my head.

    It seems like current and former Austinites are coming out of the woodworks here online. . . . Love it!

Comments are closed.

